Navigation auf



Bachelor's degree programme

The Bachelor's programme in the Physics major lasts 6 semesters and leads to the "Bachelor of Science UZH in Physics" (BSc).

The Bachelor's programme is available in three variants:
- as a mono-subject with 180 ECTS in physics
- as a major subject with 150 ECTS in physics and 30 ECTS in a minor programme
- as a major subject with 120 ECTS in physics and 60 ECTS in a minor programme

The Bachelor's programme consists of a number of study modules (a module is e.g. a lecture with exercises). When you have successfully completed a module, you receive a certain number of credit points. The modules are examined immediately after they have been completed.

Study guide

The study guide  provides comprehensive information on the Bachelor's and Master's programmes. It is also available in printed form from the study advisors and the secretariats.

Study regulations

The study regulations of the Faculty of Mathematics and Natural Sciences are the regulations on which the Bachelor's and Master's programmes are based.

Course catalogue

The course catalogue contains important information on the individual courses. In particular, the conditions for obtaining credit points are listed there.

Modules and examinations

At the beginning of each semester you have to register for all the modules you want to attend. You will find the link to do so on the homepage of the University of Zurich.

Important: if you register for a module you also register automatically for the module exam. If you do not wish to take the exam, e.g. because you do not attend the module after all, you must deregister from the module by the middle of the semester. If you do not deregister and do not appear for the examination, the module will be deemed to have been failed.

Note: you are only allowed to take an exam twice.


The physics programme knows the so-called Mentor-System, in which you are assigned a professor as a mentor who accompanies you during your studies.

A list of all lectures and seminars can be found in the lecture catalog of the University of Zurich.

Weiterführende Informationen

Bachelor Thesis

A list of suggested topics for bachelor theses can be found  here. We also recommend to ask directly in the research groups. You should complete your bachelor’s thesis during the last semester of your bachelor’s program, as it is required to be able to sign up for a master’s program.


Teaching Diploma

The study programme for the teaching diploma for Matura schools is offered by the Institute of Educational Science at the UZH. The programme comprises 60 credit points.