## Prof. Dr. Detlef Brinkmann

October 3, 1931 (Esens/D) - February 20, 2017 (Uster/CH)

Detlef Brinkmann attended schools in Northern Germany and enrolled afterwards in 1952 at the University of Göttingen. There he passed the 'Vordiplom (BSc) in 1954 and then transferred to the University of Zürich, where he obtained his 'Diplom' (MSc) in experimental physics in 1958. 'Nuclear magnetic resonance in gaseous Xenon'<sup>1</sup> was the title of his thesis carried out under the guidance of Prof. Dr. Hans Staub, which led to a PhD in 1961. Besides low energy nuclear physics at a Van-de-Graaff accelerator nuclear magnetic resonance (NMR) was the primary research subject, which Hans Staub pioneered in Switzerland after he returned from Stanford in 1949. Detlef Brinkmann continued to apply NMR techniques during his postdoctoral research at Rutgers University in New Brunswick, New Jersey (USA), and further after his return to our institute in 1965. After submission of a 'Habilitationsschrift' on the 'Displacement of the Local Magnetic Field in the Nuclear Resonance of Noble Gases'<sup>2</sup> in 1968 he served as Lecturer, became Assistant Professor in 1972, was promoted to Associate Professor in 1976 and finally to Full Professor in 1983. In 1999 he retired as Professor Emeritus.



During his many years as a professor at our institute Detlef Brinkmann led a dedicated research group, which made significant contributions to the physics of condensed matter using NMR and NQR (Nuclear Quadrupole Resonance) techniques. The wide field of his scientific work ranged from noble gases and natural minerals to synthetic substances, such as quasi-one-dimensional and super-ion conductors. Since the 1980s his research has focused on the investigation of high-temperature superconductors, especially their behavior under pressure. In this area he collaborated with the IBM Rüschlikon research laboratory and Prof. Dr. Karl Alex Müller.

In addition to his successful research, Detlef Brinkmann was also a popular academic teacher, he enthusiastically taught the introductory physics courses and engaged in didactics discussions within the European Physical Society. Since his initial course in the 1980s on the fundamentals of solid state physics at our institute it is an integral part of the physics curriculum here.

Detlef Brinkmann had an excellent and fruitful scientific network inside Switzerland (e.g. ETHZ, ABB) and outside in Europe (including MPI Stuttgart, University of Grenoble or the Kazan Federal University in the Russian Republic Tatarstan), as well as in America (Argonne National Lab, General Electric, University of Washington and the State University of New York at Albany) and Asia. Here, Detlef Brinkmann had very active research connections to Japan, Singapore and India, where he was appointed Pandit Jawaharlal Nehru Professor at the University of Hyderabad in 1999. Numerous researchers from the corresponding institutes used the good contacts to our institute for a research stay of a few months at UZH. Detlef Brinkmann served as President of the International Committee on Nuclear Quadrupole Interactions (NQI) for many years and was responsible for a series of symposia and conferences held in this field. In 2001 he received the NQI Award.

## Personnel

## Scientific personnel

	°	6 10
Thea Klæboe		Sec. 10
	Ackermann	Sec. 16
PD Dr. Christof	•	Sec. 16
Michele		Sec. 9
	Balmelli	Sec. 2
	Barrow	Sec. 4
Prof. Laura		Sec. 3,4
	Bernard	Sec. 14
Dr. Roland		Sec. 9
Dr. Christopher	Betancourt	Sec 9,8
Iaroslava	Bezshyiko	Sec 9,8
Dr. Ruxandra	Bondarescu	Sec. 2
Marzia	Bordone	Sec. 1
Dr. Sophia	Borowka	Sec. 1
Yannik	Bötzel	Sec. 2
Espen	Bowen	Sec. 9
Adam	Brown	Sec. 4
Federico	Buccioni	Sec 1
Dr. Dario	Buttazzo	Sec 1
Dr. Lea	Caminada	Sec. 10
Prof. Florencia	Canelli	Sec. 6, 10
Chiara	Capelli	Sec. 4
Dr. Luca	•	Sec. 14
Prof. Johan	0	Sec. 12
Dr. Marcin	Chrząszcz	Sec. 9
Dr. Leandro	Cieri	Sec 1
Dr. Ashley		Sec 11
Paule		Sec 16
Dr. Annapaola	0	Sec. 10
	del Burgo	Sec. 10
	de Lima	Sec. 14
Philippe		Sec. 2
	Destraz	Sec. 12
Simone	_	Sec. 12
	de Vittori	Sec. 2
Dr. Silvio		Sec. 10
	Dreher	Sec. 16
	Eschle	Sec. 9
Dr. Conrad	Eschor	Sec. 15
Prof. Hans-Werner		Sec. 15
Dr. Stefan		Sec. 13
Dr. Arno		Sec. 6
Camilla		Sec. 0 Sec. 10
Dr. Michelle		Sec. 10 Sec. 4
	•	
Prof. Thomas	Gazizulina	Sec. 13
		Sec. 1
	Graverini	Sec. 8,9
PD Dr. Massimiliano	Grazzini	Sec. 1

Duch Theorem	Cualcan	Sec. 14
Prof. Thomas		Mu3e
Roman Dr Nicolae	U	Sec. 1
Dr. Nicolas		
Dr. Admir	,	Sec. 1
	Grundmann	Sec. 13
Dr. Maria		Sec. 2
Catalin		Sec. 1
Dr. Adrian		Sec. 14
	Hengsberger	Sec. 14
Dr. Roman		Sec. 3
Dr. Andreas		Sec. 10
Marius		Sec. 1
Dr. Tomas		Sec. 10
Shang-Xiong	Huang-fu	Sec. 13
	Hulme	Sec. 1
Agnieszka		Sec. 1
Prof. Gino	Isidori	Sec. 1
Dr. Dimitri	Ivanov	Sec. 1
Oleh	Ivashko	Sec. 12
Prof. Philippe	Jetzer	Sec. 2
Dr. Tomas	Ježo	Sec. 1
Dominik	Kara	Sec. 1
Dr. Alexander	Karlberg	Sec. 1
Dr. Shingo		Sec. 4
Prof. Benjamin		Sec. 10, 8, 5
Dr. Alexander		Sec. 3, 4
Pavlo	Kliuiev	Sec. 14
Aram	Kostanyan	Sec. 14
Rafael	•	Sec. 2
	Lancierini	Sec. 9
	Lanfranconi	Sec. 16
Dr. Clemens		Sec. 10
	Leuenberger	Sec. 14
Junhui	0	Sec. 5
Dr. Jonas		Sec. 1
Federica		Sec. 9
Dr. Jean-Nicolas		Sec. 15
	Lopresti	Sec. 1
Marianna	-	Sec. 15
	Lowdon	Sec. 15
	Mallavalli	Sec. 16
	Marzocca	Sec. 10
Dr. Christian		
		Sec. 12
Andrea		Sec. 9
	Mayani Paras	Sec. 4
-	Mazzitelli	Sec. 1
	Miloradovic	Sec. 4
	Mingazheva	Sec. 4
Dr. Elisa	Miniussi	Sec. 14
Dr. Claude	Monney	Sec. 14

Ninala	Maratti	C 1
Niccolo		Sec. 1 Sec. 9
Dr. Katharina		
Prof. Titus	-	Sec. 11
	Ngadiuba	Sec. 10
	Niehues	Sec. 1
Dr. Zbynek	•	Sec. 14
Seulghi		Sec. 11
Deniz Gizem		Sec. 1
	Osterwalder	Sec. 14
Dr. Patrick		Sec. 9
	Pakarha	Sec. 4
Andrea		Sec. 1
	Philippoz	Sec. 2
Francesco		Sec. 4
Deborah		Sec. 10
Prof. Stefano		Sec. 1
Dr. Albert	-	Sec. 9
Sahil		Sec. 16
	Ransom	Sec. 3
Giorgia		Sec. 10
	Robmann	Sec. 5, 7, 10
PD Dr. Prasenjit	Saha	Sec. 2
Daniel	Salerno	Sec. 10
Hayk	Sargsyan	Sec. 1
Andreas	Schärer	Sec. 2
Dr. Lukas	Schertel	Sec. 16
Prof. Andreas	Schilling	Sec. 13
Frank	Schindler	Sec. 11
Dr. Jale	Schneider	Sec. 16
Dr. Marek	Schönherr	Sec. 1
Adrian	Schuler	Sec. 14
Korbinian	Schweiger	Sec. 10
Dr. Claudia	e	Sec. 10
Dr. Lara	Selvaggi	Sec. 16
Prof. Nicola		Sec. 8,9
Dr. Andrey		Sec. 12
Prof. Adrian		Sec. 1
	Silva Coutinho	Sec. 9
Roland		Sec. 14
PD Dr. Olaf		Sec. 9
Dr. Barbara		Sec. 8,9
Prof. Ulrich		Sec. 6,9
Denys		Sec. 12
	Takahashi	Sec. 12 Sec. 10
Lakshmi Das		Sec. 10
	Tresch	Sec. 12 Sec. 9
	Trifinopoulos	Sec. 9 Sec. 1
Dr. Severine		Sec. 1 Sec. 16
	van der Schaaf	Sec. 16 Sec. 7
DI. AIIUHES	van dei Jenaal	JUC. 7

Dr. Denys	van Dyk	Sec. 1
Dr. Achim	Vollhardt	Sec. 6, 9, 18
Kay	Waltar	Sec. 14
Qiang	Wang	Sec. 13
Dr. Yuehuan	Wei	Sec. 4
Andreas	Weiden	Sec. 9
Flavio	Wicki	Sec. 15
Dr. Marius	Wiesemann	Sec. 1
Julien	Wulf	Sec. 4
Wolf-Dietrich	Zabka	Sec. 14
Xiaofu	Zhang	Sec. 13
Max	Zoller	Sec. 1
Dr. Alberto	Zucchetta	Sec. 10

## Technical and adminstrative personnel

	Abellan Beteta	Sec. 9
	Albrecht	Sec. 17
Kurt	Bösiger	Sec. 17
Tiziano	Crudeli	Technical support
Patrick	Donà	Sec. 14
Daniel	Florin	Sec. 18,6
Brigitte		Secretariat
Carmelina	Genovese	Secretariat
Ruth	Halter	Secretariat
Andreas	James	Sec. 3,4
Thomas	Kälin	Sec. 14
Simon	Karrer	Sec. 18
Gian	Knüsel	Sec. 17
Bruno	Lussi	Sec. 17
Reto	Maier	Sec. 17
Brandon	Markwalder	Sec. 17
Lucien	Pauli	Lecture demonstrations
Jan Ten	Pierick	Sec. 2
Monika	Röllin	Secretariat
Marcel	Schaffner	Sec. 17
Silvio	Scherr	Sec. 17
Regina	Schmid	Secretariat
Andrea	Schneider	IPhO
Karen	Schraader Frigg	Admistration
Stefan	Siegrist	Sec. 13
Stefan	Steiner	Sec. 6,9
Kim Jennifer	Studenski	Administration
Marc	Türler	Administration
Jonas	Vergés	Sec. 15
Pascal	Weyeneth	Sec. 17
David	2	Sec. 18